Who is the biggest loser?

NBC’s couple’s version of “The Biggest Loser” is once again proving to all of us mortals that it is easy to lose weight.  On the eve of my second stint with Weight Watchers at work, I am contemplating how this 37-year-old male, who works out every day, needs838_biggest_loser_468.jpg to pay $148 to lose the more than 50 pounds I have gained during my 11 years of marriage. I have watched the Biggest Loser. I have read a mountain of books and magazines (i.e., The South Beach Diet, Body for Life, Men’s Fitness, Men’s Health).  I belong to a gym and run about 15 miles per week.  What the hell is wrong with me? I have spent the money! Why am I still fat!

Like a company that says all the right things, I parade around telling people how I work out all of the time.  You can find me at the gym on any given day.  I have incredible visibility.  During the day, I eat like a super-model.  I am doing all of the right things in all of the right places.  Well, except for one place – home!  At the core of my company, I am a horrible C.E.O.  When no one is watching, I have no ethics and surely no values.  I get home from work and crack a beer or two.  I eat at night after dinner.  I eat late night.  I wake up in the middle of the night and find myself scanning the refrigerator. 

What I have come to understand is that all the right words mean nothing if you don’t “walk the talk”.  I have to assume that I will lose weight.  I have done it before.  Will I lose ten pounds and treat myself to a pizza binge?  I hope not. dagwoodslovessandwiches.gifI could go on and on about the number of companies that prey on people like me.  It’s big business.  We all want to look better, but many of us don’t want to fix what is wrong on the inside. Public relations has taught me transparency and two way communcation are essential to corporate or organizational success.  The next time I wolf down a Dagwood at midnight, I should tell everyone I see the next day.

Do companies spin their wheels by saying all the right things?  Do some of those companies now wish they were instead doing the right things? You bet!  On newsday.com, I found this article about Merck & Company and Schering-Plough Corporation. They did a great deal of talking about their cholesterol drug Vytorin.  When your walk doesn’t follow your talk, you can get yourself in trouble and end up being a big loser! 

2 Responses to Who is the biggest loser?

  1. Brandy Weisgarber says:

    I think this article has a lot to do with comparing real life to bad PR. Sure, when you’re trying to lose weight you can go around and parade all the good things you’ve been doing that just don’t seem to be working. But when it comes to all the midnight snacks and things that you know aren’t going to help you lose weight, you keep that to yourself and don’t tell anyone. It’s an example of bad PR because companies should speak of the good and the bad, if they don’t they will not gain people’s trust.

Leave a Reply

