What is a quick fix?

I yearn for the mornings when I would lie in bed and watch infomercials about losing weight and tightening abdominals. I would laugh and wonder who would shell out five easy installments of $29.95 for such a riduculous product?  Of course, I could have lost a few pounds at the time, but I was happy. I went to the gym everyday and stayed thin. Then came kids, cookies, ice cream and pizza every Friday. 

Now, I watch the commercials with more disdain.  How could something called the AB-DOer sell over two million units in 18 months?  There isn’t a quick fix for fat people.  I am living proof.  I have worked out every day for the last ten years.  I have lost and I have gained.  Recently, I learned the brutal honest truth.  It’s not what you do.  It’s what you put in your mouth.  I think it is a combination of eating right, working out, and prioritizing (not necessarily in that order).

mainf_15c.jpgWhy am I hung up on quick fixes? As stated in earlier posts, I am a Hillary supporter.  At present, I think her campaign is out of shape.  Her camp is stocking up on Thighmasters and AB-DOers as I speak.  Today, I read the latest quick fix from the Team Clinton.  After her Xerox accusation last week, I saw an article on Yahoo.  The article accompanies a photograph of Obama in Kenya wearing a white turban and a wraparound white robe.  At this point, who cares?  It’s another laim attempt to discredit her opponent.  Clinton’s staffers deny leaking the story.  Denial is unhealthy.  Just ask those two million people who are hiding their Ab-DOers under a mound of clothes that don’t fit them any more.

And finally, I have to give some credit to my school.  Hats of to Kent State’s men’s basketball team, who has cracked the top 25 in both the Associated Press and Coaches Polls.  Go Flashes!!!

Leave a Reply

