Fertilizing New Ground in Employee Fitness

Thank you to Bill Sledzik for sharing the Business Week article, Get Healthy—Or Else.  Scotts’ CEO, Jim Hagedorn is snuffing out employees, literally.  In an effort to trim health care costs, Hagedorn has implemented a new fitness program for employees.  I am j0409521.jpgvery impressed.  I have long advocated for an employee fitness program.  However, has Hagedorn stepped over the line?

I think not!  I would love a company that kicked my rear end into shape.  By telling people to quit smoking and lose weight, Hagedorn is cutting his costs and more importantly, adding years to the lives of his employees.  I am not going to give research results.  I know that cigarettes and fried foods are bad.  Why shouldn’t employers want the best for their employees?  Honestly, I would love to see the end of “food days” and birthday cakes at work.  It’s bad enough that I get suckered into buying those Girl Scout cookies and tins of frozen cookie dough.  I spend about half of my awake week at work (try saying that with a mouthful of cookies).  I would be glad to have to answer to someone.  I think I would have an easier time cutting some pounds if the alternative meant taking food off of my children’s plate. 

This article couldn’t have come at a better time.  I have been whining about universal health care since 2004 and then, I heard it.  McCain has not spoken about health care because Republicans feel that people should be accountable for their own fitness.  It was an epiphany for me.  I am not thinking about pledging allegiances to Ann Coulter, but I do feel enlightened.  Why shouldn’t we be accountable?  Why should we pay for those who make poor health choices?  Who is paying for that fat lady to sing? I am fat, mad, and ready for a change! Bring it on!

One Response to Fertilizing New Ground in Employee Fitness

Leave a Reply

